The Wami/Ruvu Valley water board was established in July 2002 in accordance with law no. 11 of 2009 (which repealed law No. 42 of 1974 and its amendments) the entire country is divided into nine (9) main basins.

Wami/ruvu basin water board has three offices, you have your headquarters in Morogoro town and small offices in Dodoma and Dar es Salaam.

The valley includes parts of the regions of Dodoma, Manyara, Morogoro, Coastal, Tanga and the entire region of Dar es Salaam, with a total of 22 districts in those regions.

The basin is estimated to have 66,820 square kilometers while the area of the Mami river has 43,946 square kilometers and the area of the Ruvu river has 18,078 square kilometers and the area of the valley of the rivers Mpiji, Mlalakwa, Misimbazi, Kizinga, Mzinga and Mbezi has 4,796 square kilometers.

Below is the location of Basin Head Office in Morogoro.